Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium/Annual Meeting

85th Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium & 31st MAS Annual Meeting
Saturday, April 21, 2018
University of St. Thomas
Registration will open in February, 2018

2017 WURS Call for Abstracts.pdfThe 2017 Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium at Macalester College on Saturday, April 22 is complete! 

Out of a total of 130 registrants, 85 were students who came from 19 different schools and 30 departments scattered around Minnesota. A small number of students even came from Iowa and Wisconsin! Check out the projects on display here.
Feel free to look at or download the journal of abstracts and program for the day.
Thank you so much for participating. See you next year unless you're graduating!

The 2017 Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium at Macalester College on Saturday, April 22 is upon us! 
Registration is now closed to students. Advisors, volunteers, judges and guests may register until April 15. See the link at the bottom of the page to register.

Students, be sure to review the guidelines for oral and poster presentations! We will strictly adhere to time and space limits (regarding oral and poster presentations, respectively). 

We're looking forward to another great year! Thank you for participating!


There are four main components of the event: a keynote lecture, oral presentations, breakout sessions and poster presentations. The event will run from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Lunch occurs between oral presentations and breakout sessions.
Registration Directions
Each attendee must register him or herself. The system cannot process mass registrations from institutions. 
You must complete all registration questions in one sitting, as the system does not save work in progress, only completed applications. 
Be sure to have the following information when you register:
- your advisor's name and email address,
- whether you'll be doing an oral or poster presentation, and
- your presentation title and abstract.
If you think your institution is paying your registration fee, verify that in advance and when you register, you must provide us with the name, title and email address of the person who approved payment. If you or your advisor is a member of the American Chemical Society (ACS), ACS will pay for your registration! Just answer the appropriate questions when registering.
If either your institution or ACS is paying for your registration, when you get to the payment page, select "send me an invoice" and either put in the address of your institution or something - we'll bill the appropriate people.

Click on the "Register Now" button below.


The Annual Meeting & Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium prepares undergraduate students to enter the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics by providing a forum for students to showcase their scientific research, receive comments from professional scientists and peers, and network with professionals in the fields they aspire to enter.

The 84th Annual Meeting and 30th Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium, Macalester College, St. Paul on Saturday, April 22, 2017. Come join us for this fun event!

Download the flyer here and spread the word!

 Information below on the keynote speaker






Keynote speaker: Dr. Mary MontgomeryAssociate Professor and Chair of the Biology Department at Macalester College, will give a talk on gene editing, probably the most exciting thing happening in biology this year! 

Professor Montgomery studies regulation of gene expression, specifically the mechanisms underlying a form of gene silencing called RNA interference. She is starting a new research project using the genome editing tool Cas9 to study regulationof maternally-expressed genes in the genetic model organism C. elegans and other closely-related nematodes. Professor Montgomery is also a Health Professions advisor.

Courses: Genetics, Developmental Biology, Research in Molecular Biology, Clinical Genetics, Senior Seminar

Research: Animal development, molecular genetics, evolution of developmental mechanisms

BA: Immaculata College (Biology); PhD: University of Southern California (Biological Sciences); Post-doc: Carnegie Institution of Washington, Embryology Department



Photography notice

Please be aware that by participating in a Minnesota Academy of Science sponsored event, you are automatically authorizing the Minnesota Academy of Science and its staff, agents, assignees, and affiliates to use, reproduce, and/or publish photographs and/or videos that include your image, likeness, or voice without compensation.

This material will become the property of the Minnesota Academy of Science and may be used online and in various print publications. This material will only be used for lawful purposes, including publicizing the Minnesota Academy of Science and its programs.

If you have any questions about photography at the event, please contact: 

Register Now

NOTICE:  If you are going to invoice your school for your registration, please use the Chrome browser. 
We are experiencing technical difficulties with IE for invoicing.


 Thank you to our 2017 sponsors!


     Macalester College Biology Department

     Macalester College Chemistry Department


                   University of St. Thomas Biology Department

Hamline University Department of Chemistry


University of Minnesota Chemistry

University of Minneosta Physics and Astronomy

Department of Plant and Microbial Biology


St Olaf College Department of Economics

 St Olaf Natural Sciences and Math

Anonymous donation in memory of former Minnesota Academy of Science Executive Director M. I. (Buzz) Harrigan


Natural and Behavioral Sciences 



Biological Sciences






Department of Chemistry