Press Releases

Media Contact

Eliza Grames
Communications Specialist

Four Student Authors Published In The Minnesota Academy Of Science Journal Of Student Research

Four Minnesota students can now add “published in an academic journal” to their list of accomplishments. The four students had their original scientific research published in the inaugural Minnesota Academy of Science Journal of Student Research (MASJSR). Studies published include glutamine dependency in cancer cells, a simulation of aerosol vapor pressure for climate modeling, identification and synthesis of artistic copper patinas, and treatment of hypoglycemia with dextrose. Read more.

Minnesota Students Named Semi-Finalists In Broadcom MASTERS Competition

Ten Minnesota students representing three Regional Science Fairs were named Broadcom MASTERS semi-finalists. Broadcom MASTERS is a program for the top 10% of middle school science fair participants in the country. Only 300 students nationwide are named semi-finalists in the competition. From the 300 semi-finalists, 30 students will be named finalists and will present their research in Washington, DC. Read more.

Eden Prairie High School Student Wins At National Science Competition

Carolyn K. Jons, Eden Prairie High School, Eden Prairie, MN, won 1st place awards at the United States Army, Navy, and Air Force sponsored 52nd National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS), held April 23-27, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

Jons competed in the national symposium with a research project on Improved Efficiency of Seawater Steam Generation Using Carbon Nanoparticles. She was awarded a $12,000 undergraduate, tuition scholarship in the category of Chemistry. A tri-service panel of judges reviewed the students written papers and heard their oral presentations delivered at National JSHS. Winners were selected based upon the quality of their experimentation, understanding of the research, and contribution to the field. Read more.

2014 Excellence In Science Award Winners

The Minnesota Academy of Science Excellence in Science Awards are given to the top oral presentation in each room and the ten best poster presentations at the Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium. Winners are determined by professional scientists and researchers who interview the students about their research projects and provide written and verbal feedback. Read more.

Minnesota Students Recognized At The Intel International Science & Engineering Fair

Ten students from Minnesota received recognition for their research achievements at the Intel International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF). More than 1700 students from 70 countries, regions, and territories participated in ISEF. Of the 37 students representing Minnesota, 10 received an award. Read more.

Recap: Tour Of The 3M Innovation Center

At the most recent Science Salon, attendees toured the 3M Innovation Center and heard 3M Corporate Scientist Matt Scholz from the Infection Prevention Division Laboratory talk about the culture of innovation at 3M. Matt has been with 3M Healthcare for 32 years. He has worked in infection prevention research and development for 18 years and is a co-inventor on over 130 issued US patents. His work is presently focused on saving lives by preventing healthcare associated infections. Read more.

2014 High School STEM Communicator Awards Winners

Neehar Banerjee
Claire Drysdale
Luis Guzman & Julia Joern
Sofie Kim & Jacob Levy
Matthew McMillan & Peter Metzger
Amrita Mohanty
Priyanka Narayan
Elisa Villafaña
Elliott Weiler
Patricia Zhao & Madison Ernst

Former ISEF Student From Moorhead Named Presidential Scholar

The Minnesota Academy of Science wishes to congratulate Haleigh Larson, Park Christian School 12th grader, for being selected as a 2014 Presidential Scholar.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, appointed by President Obama, selects 141 honored scholars from over three million graduates, annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Read more.

Congratulations To National JSHS First Place Winner For 2013

Congratulations to Connor Klemenhagen, Champlin Park High School, for taking First Place in Environmental Science at the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium in Dayton, Ohio! For Connor's first place win, he received a $12,000 scholarship to any college of his choice. Read more.