



# Minnesota Statewide High School Science Bowl

January 20, 2024

at Hamline University

# SPONSORED BY

## MN Alliance for Volunteer Advancement / Americorps MN Department of Education US Department of Energy Ecolab Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation Hardenbergh Foundation H.B. Fuller Verizon Foundation Raytheon Technologies / Collins Aerospace **CVS** Health Jahnavi Darji Danaher Corporation / Beckman Coulter Stephanie Yancey **Great River Energy** 3M Unitech Medical, Inc. **Beanstalk Foundation** Adam & Ginger Cantor DeMichaelis-Colbach Family Kenyon Latham Jun Zhu Julie Madden Giving Fund Jim & Sandy Wolfe-Wood Medtronic Minnetonka Middle School East Math & Science Club Baker Family Foundation Matt Thell & Jennifer Hanson

Diasorin EDF Renewables

# SPECIAL THANKS

Founded in 1873, the **Minnesota Academy of Science** is a statewide 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to providing opportunities for Minnesotans of all backgrounds to engage in STEM-related learning, inquiry, research, and networking. We serve K-12 and undergraduate students, educators, and schools as well as STEM graduates and professionals seeking to network and volunteer.

MAS seeks to expand opportunities and open the door to STEM majors and careers for *all* Minnesota students. We could not do so without our sponsors, donors, volunteers, and YOU!

#### **MAS BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Dr. Cindy Ward-Thompson (Board President), *MN Department of Education* Mr. John Morris (Board Vice President), Collins Aerospace **Dr. Jeff Lande** (Board Treasurer), *Medtronic* **Dr. Gregory Park** (Board Secretary), University of Minnesota Ms. Margo Bowerman, University of Minnesota Extension Dr. Jahnavi Darji, CVS Health **Dr. Lifeng Dong,** *Hamline University* Ms. Lori Haak, City of Eden Prairie Ms. Betsy Hughes, Abbott Laboratories (retired) Ms. Lara Maupin (ex officio), MAS **Dr. Nicholas Schlotter**, *Hamline University* Dr. Kannan Seshadri, 3M **Dr. Kailey Soller,** *Beckman Coulter Diagnostics* Dr. Monika Vadali, Great Plains Institute Ms. Nicoshia Wynn, Rayus Radiology

#### MAS SCIENCE BOWL STAFF

Kristine Fowler, Science Bowl Manager Alex Berg, Science Bowl Scoring Administrator Liz Buhmann, Events Manager Jennifer Hadley, Operations Director Lara Maupin, Executive Director Emily Shepard, Communications Specialist Alyse Tainter, Volunteer Engagement Assistant

#### HSSB HOST Hamline University

#### **HSSB QUESTION PROOFREADERS**

Ben Weiner (lead), Sudheer Chava, Maggie Chiu, Ken Latham, Meghan Litsey, Kavya Rampalli, Paige Wendland, Alicia Wong

#### **HSSB VOLUNTEER TRAINERS**

Jennifer Hanson, Rob Meyer, Matt Thell

**HSSB VOLUNTEERS:** MAS is grateful to companies like **DiaSorin, General Mills, Medtronic,** and **the University of Minnesota** for supporting the involvement of their employees in MAS STEM education programs as volunteers.

2024 Volunteers: Michaela Andrews, Carroll Arnett, Alexandra Atchison, Apurva Balaji, Andy Barnes, Peyton Battis, James Bradford III, Megan Brennan, Nathaniel Burge, Adam Cantor, Rohan Chakraborty, Monika Chauhan, Sudheer Chava, Maggie Chiu, Rory Cole, Kelly Coleman, Brianna Dailey-Krempel, Brenda Danner, Jahnavi Darji, Mark Davis, Jodie Deshler, Jon Dozier, Cathleen Drilling, Nicholas Fischer, Judith Franklin, Harrison Frisk, Andrew Gnegy, Aayush Gupta, Leonie Gussone, Lori Haak, Dustin Hadley, Debra Hall, Jennifer Hanson, Janet Hume, Andrew Jin, Jeff Johnson, William Kamp, Brooke Kern, Vide Kuster, Greg Lamberty, Ken Latham, Mai Lee-Xiong, Risa Luther, SuPing Lyu, Rowan Matney, Nahui Medina, Pavak Mehta, Rob Meyer, Ally Milenkovic, Carrie Miller, Pranati Mondkar, Yeena Ng, Olivia Oldenburg, Mia Olson, Viplav Patturi, John Pelegano, Lindsey Qian, Kavya Rampalli, Connor Reilly, Alex Ren, Daniel Ribeiro, Angelica Rodriguez, Kendall Schill, Sophie Seligman, Addison Shi, Aneesh Swaminathan, Robert Swearengin, Elliott Tanner, Lizeth Telleria, Mikayla Thatcher, Matt Thell, Aeisha Thomas, Genevieve Tostevin, Joseph Touchet, Evan Truong, David Tweeten, Michelle Walter, Chris Wang, James Wassenberg, Ben Weiner, Paige Wendland, Jim Wolfe Wood, Alicia Wong, Henry Wong

#### HSSB PIZZA LUNCH

Sponsored by Matt Thell & Jennifer Hanson, and provided by Checkerboard Pizza

#### Thanks also to The Thinking Spot (Wayzata):

"your friendly neighborhood bookstore offering books, SCIENCE and learning for ALL ages!"

# Minnesota Statewide Science Bowl for High School Students COMPETITION DAY SCHEDULE Saturday, January 20, 2024

8:00-8:30 am Volunteer Check-in – Giddens Learning Center (*GLC*) Lobby 8:30-9:00 am Team Check-in –*GLC Lobby* 

9:00 am Team Welcome – GLC Lobby

- 8:30 am Volunteer Training –*GLC100E*
- 9:15 a.m. All go to Competition Rooms
- 9:30 a.m. Round Robin Tournament

12:30 p.m. Lunch Break - pick up cheese pizza in GLC Lobby & take it to a classroom

1:00 p.m. Meet the Scientists! Ask about their jobs & career paths!

- room 106W: Megan Brennan (Optum) & Andrew Gnegy (Medtronic) + 4 teams (as notified)
- room 108W: Aeisha Thomas (Crown College) & Paige Wendland (Ginkgo Bioworks) + 4 teams (as notified)
- room 110W: Kelly Coleman (Medtronic) & Lindsey Qian (UMN) + 5 teams (as notified)
- room 202E: Lori Haak (City of Eden Prairie) & Daniel Ribeiro (Atlas Prediction Control) + 4 teams (as notified)
- room 203E: Angelica Rodriguez (Trane Technologies) & James Wassenberg (DiaSorin) + 4 *teams (as notified)*
- room 101E: Peyton Battis (Medtronic) & Aayush Gupta (UnitedHealth) + 4 teams (as notified)
- room 103E: Andy Barnes (UMN Medical School) & Lizeth Telleria (Teleflex) + 4 teams (as notified)
- 1:30 p.m. Tiebreakers, if necessary announced in *GLC Lobby*
- 1:45 p.m. Announcements and Civility Award Presentation *GLC Lobby*
- 2:00 p.m. 16-team Double Elimination Tournament
- 5:30 p.m. Championship Round(s) GLC 100E

6:00 or 6:15 p.m. Awards Presentation – GLC 100E

YOU can help secure the future of Science Bowl by joining our campaign to increase MAS's state funding. Stop by the table in the lobby to write a letter to your MN legislators today. Your voice matters!

### We value your opinions! We'd *love* to hear from you!

- Visit our feedback wall to share what you love about Science Bowl and write a thank you note.
- Make sure to fill out our short survey form (available in your last round before lunch).

## 2024 PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS

Academy of Holy Angels, *Richfield*, Coaches: Andrew Vitek, Malia Lahr, Elizabeth Moravec
The Blake School, *Hopkins*, Coach: Kjirsten Walt-Anderson
Breck School, *Minneapolis*, Coach: Brian Trussell
Burnsville High School, *Burnsville*, Coach: Harrison Owings
Chaska High School, *Chaska*, Coach: Kelly Dreier
Columbia Heights Senior High, *Columbia Heights*, Coach: Aimee Candella
Edina High School, *Edina*, Coach: Elizabeth Houtz
Harding High School, *St. Paul*, Coaches: Jenny Goetz, Isaiah Ripley
Maple Grove Senior High, *Maple Grove*, Coach: Todd Martin
Minnetonka High School, *Minnetonka*, Coach: Alison Peterson
Mounds View Senior High School, *Mounds View*, Coaches: Carolynne Ladd, Hawo Suhaib Hersi
Rosemount High School, *Rosemount*, Coach: Joe Christman
Sartell Senior High, *Sartell*, Coaches: Alex King, Julie Schnettler
Wayzata High, *Plymouth*, Coach: Amanda Marie Laden

Woodbury Senior High, Woodbury, Coaches: Kaarin Schumacher, Gretchen Tentis



Welcome, New Schools! Welcome, Returning Schools! MAS is glad you are here. Thank you, coaches and co-coaches, for all you do.

 $\star\star\star$ 

Connect to the Minnesota Academy of Science mnmas.org



Subscribe to our monthly Minnesota STEM News & Events Digest



MN Science Bowl results, photos, and more

Follow us: